Northern Kentucky: The Region


Northern Kentucky University is located in Highland Heights, Kentucky, just across the Ohio River from Cincinnati, Ohio. The northernmost part of Kentucky is comprised of towns along the Ohio River, each with its own identity, but the area as a whole is considered part of the Cincinnati metropolitan region. Many citizens live in Ohio and drive to work in Kentucky and vice versa. From tiny places like Rabbit Hash, Kentucky to the area's largest city - Covington, in Kenton County - Northern Kentucky's residents are diverse, including businessmen, farmers, artists, and academics. For culture and commerce, few places offer such contrasting locales.

The area is also one of the fastest growing in the state, as more people are realizing the benefits of living in small towns so close to a major metropolitan area. In the last six years, nearly 26,000 new residents have moved to the three most northern counties. Those three - Boone, Kenton and Campbell - are the most heavily populated counties in Northern Kentucky, but less populated counties like Gallatin, Grant, Pendleton, and Bracken are also considered part of the region.

Campbell County, where NKU is located, boasts a population of more than 88,000. The county boasts of an urban environment to the north where its largest city, Newport, was settled; a suburban locale in the middle of the county, site of Northern Kentucky University; and a rural landscape to the south, made up mostly of farmland. The county's population grew by nearly six percent from 1990 to 2000, and Cold Spring, one of the state's fastest growing cities, is located adjacent to NKU. From the river, which offers boating and other recreation, to shopping malls, restaurants and movie theaters, Campbell County offers something for everyone.

To learn more about northern Kentucky, please visit the Northern Kentucky Convention and Visitor’s Bureau website at